Skip to content

Nature Hike

October 12, 2016

This is my third year of retirement.
I still miss the classroom.
Every week, I meet with a group of retired educators.
A few weeks ago, one of these educators and I decided to volunteer at a school where our former principal is now assigned.
We will be providing a two hour block for teachers to have a gift of time.
My friend, a master naturalist, will be taking the students on a nature hike and also doing an art activity.
I will be teaching a writing lesson.

We will begin by reading Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert.
Then we will read We’re Going on a Leaf Hunt by Steve Metzger.

I created a Power Point and a nature-word-bank.
The Power Point has a story organizer; a verb, noun, and preposition word bank; and sentence starters.
I also created a video of a nature hike in order to give another opportunity to experience the sights, sounds, and feelings of a nature walk.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

