Skip to content

You Are My Miracle

November 20, 2011

 You Are My Miracle by Maryann Cusimano
This heart warming story is a good mentor text for the writing trait of organization. The young reader and writer will enjoy the rhyme and the see saw pattern for writing.
Reading and writing lesson plans are included.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. teacherthinktank permalink*
    December 7, 2011 4:22 pm

    I just wanted to share my experience with this lesson. The success of any lesson plan depends on the presentation and customiziation to the students. My students’s response to this book was inspirational. The students took the lesson to a direction and level that had not been planned. Our shared writing was a see saw between teacher and student.
    I told the students that I wanted to say “Your are my energy” to my students. I then asked them to give me suggestions as to what I could be if they were my energy. After partners shared their thoughts with each other, a student responded that I should say that I was the gas station! The discussion and suggestions that followed were amazing. The students then decided on a special person to whom they would direct their see saw writing. Samples of their awesome writing will be posted on our class blog soon.
    http://blogs.neisd.net/gcunni/

  2. February 13, 2013 8:20 am

    I really was initially hunting for techniques for my blog site and located your blog post, “You Are My
    Miracle | The Teacher Think Tank”, do you mind if perhaps I really utilize a few of your suggestions?
    With thanks ,Ofelia

    • teacherthinktank permalink*
      February 17, 2013 9:05 pm

      The purpose of this blog is to share ideas. Feel free to use whatever helps you. If you could, it would be helpful to know what specific parts of this blog are useful.

    • teacherthinktank permalink*
      August 4, 2013 9:05 pm

      Feel free to use whatever is helpful.
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

