Skip to content

of Thee I Sing (A Letter to My Daughters)

January 1, 2011

 of Thee I Sing ( A Letter to My Daughters) by Barack Obama
President Barack Obama write a letter to his daughters. He celebrates the diversity that is America as he presents 13 historical figures and ordinary people who contributed to the ideals of our nation. This book can be used to introduce Martin Luther King. It can also be used to initiate research on the people mentioned in the book. My district technology team has provided an online cube template that I am not at liberty to share. However, I can share an informational worksheet that I created. It includes the pictures and captions about the 13 Americans listed in the book. Students will choose 4 of the pictures and captions to copy and paste onto the cube and make a “book in a box”. The lesson plans include before, during, and after reading questions.

Leave a Reply

