Skip to content

I Need My Monster

September 19, 2009

Needmonster  I Need My Monster by Amanda Noll

This monster book, along with Where the Wild Things Are , Leonardo the Terrible Monster, and When a Monster is Born, are part of the Reflection theme of the first nine weeks. Children get to learn more about themselves as they read about Max, making a wrong choice with his mother, and imagining a land where he is the king of all monsters. With Leonardo, the students learn about making a choice to be a friend. After reading about Ethan, in I Need My Monster, children learn about growing up. The outrageous tale in When a Monster is Born, provides children with a world of possibilities.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 2:18 am

    Thanks for using our book, I Need My Monster, in your Reflection theme. Your students might also enjoy our Make A Monster page, at http://flashlightpress.com/Make_a_Monster.html If they send us scans of their monsters, we’ll post them in our Monster Gallery!

    • teacherthinktank permalink*
      September 21, 2009 4:58 pm

      It was great hearing from you. We will be visiting the site and creating monsters!

  2. September 23, 2009 6:20 pm

    Thank you so much for including my book in your theme. If there is any way I can support your program let me know. I love being in contact with students and encouraging them to read!

    Amanda Noll
    Author of I Need My Monster

    • teacherthinktank permalink*
      September 23, 2009 6:31 pm

      I plan to teach the lesson next week, and the children will be very excited to know that I heard from the author! I know they will enjoy the book.

  3. teacherthinktank permalink*
    October 9, 2009 8:34 pm

    The lesson was a great success. The parents got involved by sending craft items and every sort of cereal and tissue box availble. Students created their own monster out of these boxes, and they also made paper sack monsters. They were given several possible topics about which to write. The big hit was the I Need My Monster topic. Their reasons for needing their monster ranged from the believable to the outrageous.
    I believe the students demonstrated growth in written expression because of these activities. We had monster math, reading, and writing stations, which included the use of technology. We ended the week by dancing the Monster Mash.
    This monster is on our list of lessons that will be done again next year. My team and I would appreciate any ideas for other activities that will help our students have fun learning.

Leave a Reply

